Skip to content ↓

Racecourse Lane, Shrewsbury, Shropshire, SY3 5BJ • • 01743 351948

Oxon CE Primary School

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the time in your child’s life between birth and age five.  Their early years’ experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.

Nurseries, pre-schools, Reception classes and child-minders must follow a legal document called the EYFS framework.  This promotes teaching and learning to ensure children are ready for Key Stage 1 and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

The framework sets out 7 areas of learning and development (3 prime and 4 specific).

The prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Physical Development

The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design